Another tree to identify

Reaction score
Hi Folks,
I'm new to Bonsai Nut -- physician working in Bakersfield, California, just starting to get back into bonsai (but I have never been very good at it). I found this sprouting in my backyard, and it doesn't resemble any of my trees. Any idea what this might be? I figure since it's sprouting wild, I might have a shot at getting it to survive a Bakersfield summer. Thanks,

Doug
unknown_backyard.jpg

HorseloverFat

Squarepants with Conkers
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5a
Hello, douglashoffman! Welcome to the tiny forest! Dig your roots in.. stay a while!

I can’t help you much, really, with the identification, but I’d bet “the farm” that you’ll get the answers you’re looking for amongst this wonderful community of enlightened souls.

It looks like a few “acorn presents” I have seen.. but your climate is going to be much different and produce varying local “acorn presents” 🤓, so don’t listen to me... take the next guy’s advice. Hehehe

Pleasure to make your acquaintance! (THIS time “around”)

Reaction score
Thanks! Just curious, how many folks here recognize your nickname? (I'm a fan, too.)

HorseloverFat

Squarepants with Conkers
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5a
Haha!!! You’re the FIRST!!!! (At least first to mention it) I’ve been waiting.... :)

Leo in N E Illinois

The Professor
Reaction score
on the IL-WI border, a mile from ''da Lake''
USDA Zone
5b
@HorseloverFat
I admit I had to google it. Cool nickname. I won't say, let others if they are curious google it.

@douglashoffman
You probably have one oak or another, genus Quercus. You will have to dig to find which oaks are native to your valley, and which introduced oaks are doing well enough that they could have seeded into your yard.