Antique japanese scroll.. can anyone help me?

Shun

Mame
Reaction score
Hello guys.. It's kinda off-topic but I need some help indentifying this antique scroll brought from Japan by my great grandfather who was an "art collector" and its said by my family to be valuable..

I tend to agree with it because it even has gold wire details on it.. So how can I know its value? My family tried to evaluate its worth decades ago on art galleries and other places here in Brazil but only to find out that they did not know anything about it and each time with less of the gold details every time it returned from some "evaluator".. And for that reason my family decided to put it away and it was stored ever since.

The dimensions: aprox. 2meters in height and 70cm in width.

The original box it came in rotted away so decades ago another one was made for it.. I have no knowledge whatsoever on its history but some (to me) "fairytale" history that it was given to someone in japan by some emperor as a token of appreciation for some heroic deed... Kinda hard to believe but it actually is very old...

here comes the pictures and hope someone in here can help me.. I do not speak japanese so I can't and don't know how/where to ask for help..!

Thank you guys!

the box:"

the only piece of information I have on the scroll (written by my grandmother but I can't read japanese)

one of the signatures:

another seal of some sort:

The gold wire detail.. Some sort of flower:

along with this big scroll my family also inherited a few small paintings on some sort of linen.. they are much smaller.. but would look nice in a frame:

Bonsai Nut

Nuttier than your average Nut
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
Nice! First scroll looks very high quality. Was it a marriage gift? Very marriage / fertility themed.

Second scroll not as valuable / high quality. But I am hoping to hear more from our resident experts.

If he doesn't respond right away, send a personal note to Jonathan Maples (user name kakejiku).