Any experience with black mangrove (Avicennia germinans)?

winnp

Seedling
Reaction score
I've had a black mangrove seedling growing in a brackish-shoreline-habitat aquarium for almost a year now, topping and pruning lightly. Just last week I decided to start wiring it, and since I'm an amateur at this, figured it's a good time to seek some advice/feedback.

I practiced simple bonsai techniques for a few years in college (over a decade ago), but after my MIL killed my beloved 5 year old bald cypress during a cross-country move, I gave up the hobby for awhile. So I have a fuzzy recollection of all the basic principles, but not much more than that.

Here's a photo from today:
IMG_20161126_000108.jpg

The tree is growing in a pocket of mineral mud within a tank that's otherwise a sand and gravel substrate. Here's a thread focused on the aquarium aspect, with some photos from throughout its life so far:
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/12-tank-journals/983890-brackish-lagoon-shoreline-20-gal-long.html

So, does anyone have tips for this species? I know that they dwarf easily and commonly in nature (on limestone outcroppings, for example), but I haven't seen any bonsai specimens. I was just on vacation in the FL Keys, actually, and saw this waist-height dwarfed black mangrove growing on what appeared to be near-solid limestone, which I photographed for inspiration:

IMG_20161125_102147.jpg

Thanks in advance for any help or suggestions!

Anthony

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Next time count the amount of branches and branchlets, and look at the leaf density.
Then try and see if you can achieve that in a pot.
That's how you start the tests for Bonsai quality.

Also look at the shrubs, you may get a pleasant surprise.
Try a seagrape from seed, you won't be disappointed.
Below is an Oxy [ for short ] and it is a sea side and sea swamp dweller.

Found as a 3" stump, and test growing for a few years.