Anyone ever root graft a procumbens?

Mame-Mo

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8B
So I have a “root over rock” procumbens I’ve been putting together for the last 3 years which is shocking to think about because it seems like it’s only been a year. At any rate, for what it is it’s coming together quite nicely, but I think the composition will always be lacking without a root in the front. Otherwise it will just be a trunk on rock with roots trailing behind. I have never looked into root grafting at all so I’m curious if it is something I could possible do. The tree couldn’t have been more than $10 and the pot is $2 with a free rock so it won’t be the end of the world if it doesn’t work, but it would be significantly better if it was possible. Just curious if anyone has experience trying it or has any resources regarding root grafts with junipers. I feel as though I have only read about it for broad leaf trees and pines.

Potawatomi13

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Looks pretty good for minute tree. However believe "normally" tree for ROR is chosen for good roots for job to begin with. Suggest that while root graft MAY be possible size of tree would make difficult and better idea to look for tree with better roots for job and grow this one as perhaps informal upright😊.

PA_Penjing

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
Juniper root pretty easily, at least shimpaku do. Maybe try nicking the bark where you want the root and burning it a little deeper?

Arnold

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
11B
You can take a branch cutting after its rooted graft it in the base where you want the root, when its grafted you can cut the upper part and you will have roots where you want

Leo in N E Illinois

The Professor
Reaction score
on the IL-WI border, a mile from ''da Lake''
USDA Zone
5b