Anyone with Japanese Styled Monkey Poles?

fore

Omono
Reaction score
I just spent the last 45 mins searching google for japanese styled monkey poles. Like 4x4 post, but with angled cuts on top plate support?

tmmason10

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
I'm interested to see what people have done as well. I've got a lot of landscaping to do in my future.

fore

Omono
Reaction score
I hear ya tmmason10! Do a search here and only 2 posts comes up. Surprising to say the least.

Reaction score
I just got the crappy Chinese ones !!!
:p:p:p

No angled cuts at all, just two 2 x 10's forming the top...
Learned along time ago, that wood here in Florida with all
the rain and sun that we get doesn't last to long, especially
with mitered joints.
:)

dick benbow

Omono
Reaction score
we get a little bit of rain up here in seattle :)

treated lumber seems to get us over that hurdle.

I studied two years with Kyoshi seike on japanese garden design and care. Around ponds or boggy places where wooden pilings were used to indicate soil retention. The posts were varied in height to create an interesting containment fence. I get the same sense when i see the monkey poles down the way in a garden display. Void space and distance seems to have a critical appeal in their placement as well as varying heights.

fore

Omono
Reaction score
Dick, do you have any pics of a traditional monkey pole? Good idea to mix up the ht. of the poles for interest. I just have to keep them at least 34" to keep my dog from eating the soil lol

fore

Omono
Reaction score
Started construction today. Decided on 4x4 post, 2x4 'feet', and top shelf, all out of cedar. I have no room in backyard to put in ground so this was a good alternative. I'll have two made.
Pics to follow if interested.

fore

Omono
Reaction score