Apple Yamadori Suggestions

Fluke365

Seedling
Reaction score
2nd year novice here, scored today with this amazing little apple tree that the cows have done a good job on. I'm just curious how long I should leave in training pot, it had a surprisingly good root structure with fibrous roots. Soil mix is organic soil with pumice.
20230427_195834.jpg20230427_195847.jpg

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
If it is newly collected you should leave it in the training pot for a minimum 1 year to recover and adjust to life in a pot. If the tree grows well this summer it could be repotted next spring. If it is slow to recover from the transplant it would b best to leave it another year.
Everybody does it differently but My approach is to keep trees in training pots until they are almost fully trained. Branches develop better and faster, chops heal quicker, etc while the tree has some root run and can grow a bit.
The branches are wild looking but are long with little taper so I would want to shorten them and try to get better ramification and more fruiting spurs in closer to the trunk so I would still be doing more development with this tree.
If you like the look as it is then by all means go to a bonsai pot sooner.

rockm

Spuds Moyogi
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I agree with everything Shibui said. Apples are pretty tough. They recover quickly, BUT a minimum of two years in the training container is probably a good way to go.

I would also keep a close eye on that soil mix while the tree is in it. It looks far too dense to me--even with the addition of some pumice. Root recovery is aided by faster draining soil and the air exchange it provides in the root zone. I pot collected trees in regular bonsai soil that has only about 10-15 percent organic. Combined with such a deep pot, that soil mix is likely to stay pretty soggy down where the roots are developing and keeping it properly watered is going to be a challenge.

Fluke365

Seedling
Reaction score