Aqua bonsai

Danielm

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Gmt
Hi all
I’m new to bonsai but have seen aqua bonsai on the website so wanted to try it out ....
Has anyone here tried it ? Can you point me to the right place for the fertiliser needed ?

Attachments

• F137A12E-A617-4C9B-9CF2-BFC85146297C.jpeg
    F137A12E-A617-4C9B-9CF2-BFC85146297C.jpeg
    16.1 KB · Views: 77
  • ECDAC5F4-A511-4FB6-8367-7742E2F7495E.jpeg
    ECDAC5F4-A511-4FB6-8367-7742E2F7495E.jpeg
    22.5 KB · Views: 79

Danielm

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Gmt
Yeah that’s the website which I got those snaps from but can’t find the fertiliser which apparently took 4 years of research ?

Wires_Guy_wires

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
Maybe it's good to check up on some hydroponics people do. This seems to be basic aquaponics. Getting the water to stabilize is hard, you'll probably need to create a water based microbial ecosystem on itself. Once you're past that point, it's just watering and keeping it stable. I haven't seen it in bonsai, but I have done it, and seen it done with tonnes of vegetables.

The right place for fertilizer is either fish poop, or hydroponic feed with added microbes (usually found in pond stores and mycorrhizal fungi shops).
If somebody could find out the ideal nutrient values for a healthy tree, it would be easy to get water adjusted to that same nutrient level and pH.

The real issue here, is preventing algae from growing and competing for nutrients.. To do that you'll need a non-transparent container, which renders the entire system useless when it comes to design. I don't believe the water-bonsais in the pics have been there for long, the water looks way too clean compared to a aquaponic system receiving light. Those usually look like a green goo within weeks.

Leo in N E Illinois

The Professor
Reaction score
on the IL-WI border, a mile from ''da Lake''
USDA Zone
5b
Nice Olive. You purchased a nice consolation prize.