Arakawa airlayer location

Kanorin

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
I picked up this Arakawa JM about 3 weeks ago and planted it in the ground. Since it's grafted, I'm planning to airlayer it.
IMG-1778.jpg

I was thinking about trying it here (orange-stripe marks below) because
1) There is an interesting single or double trunk line from that spot
2) It's my first attempt at an airlayer and it's near the top of the tree, so if I screw it up, I can try a lower spot next year.
Arakawa airlayer.jpg
Thoughts? Words of encouragement?

Brian Van Fleet

Pretty Fly for a Bonsai Guy
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8A
That’s looks like an awkward spot to me. A bit too high for twin trunk, and the left side has a whorl of 4 branches emerging from the same spot, which will create a bulge or pruning scars when you realize you need to remove 2-3 of them. I’d go for this spot if you want a twin trunk. It will leave something alive below for later and you’ll start with a larger, usable trunk.
980F6FF4-563F-4C4A-88C1-6BA6AF2D95A0.jpeg

Canada Bonsai

Shohin
Reaction score
also a possibility: arakawa is easily propagated via cuttings!

this tree will easily give you 10-15 cutting that, by the end of this growing season, won’t be too far behind your air layer in terms of trunk thickness anyways!

as an aside, if your landscape specimen is grafted, you may want to air layer it so that it’s base also develops the beautiful bark! (Bill Valavanis has 2 spectacular specimens!)

Kanorin

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
OK, so I took @Brian Van Fleet 's advice and went for a twin trunk layer at his suggested spot. I decided to try a tupperware variation for how to house the future roots (I think I saw another thread that did something similar).
Here goes at my first air layer attempt.
Here's the cut

IMG-1787.jpg

Progress...
IMG-1790.jpg

Did I remove enough?
IMG-1791.jpg