Arakawa Spring leaves and seeds

MGTT

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Not a great pic of the entire tree, but here’s a close up of Spring leaves and, amazingly, seeds. This is a Bill Valavanis seedling from somewhere around 6-10 years ago. I’m really happy with the tree - thanks Int Bonsai Arb. (On the other hand, I did have an aphid attack this year - darned ants!!)IMG_1609.jpeg

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
Well, not quite seeds yet. You have flower buds which will open and may get pollinated. Seeds won't form for a few months yet.
I still get a kick out of seeing flowers on my maples down here too.

Reaction score
USDA Zone
6B
I got them too - this is my first year with Arakawa, is that uncommon? Really pretty.

MGTT

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
That’s good to know. I finally have some trees that are reaching a ‘mature’ stage (based on # of years).
With any luck, these flowers will go to seed. It would be interesting to see if any of the offspring result in arakawa/rough barked trees.

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
Another one that flowers early and profusely is Taiwan maple. I have not had flowers on standard tridents but the Taiwan is covered in seed every year. Even cuttings flower after a year or 2.

With any luck, these flowers will go to seed. It would be interesting to see if any of the offspring result in arakawa/rough barked trees.
Japanese maples seem to be very fertile. Most flowers on my bonsai end up as seed so every chance yours will too. I have not grown Arakawa seed but seem to remember others having most seed retain the rough bark character. It may depend on what other JM are around to add other genes into the mix.

leatherback

The Treedeemer
Reaction score
USDA Zone