Arizona bonsai newb first post

AZ Newb

Sapling
Reaction score
Hello Bonsai Nuts
This is my first post of hopefully many more. I have been experimenting with Bonsai for a while, however To say I am a beginner is an understatement. So far, I have been trying to learn from YouTube and other websites. I live in Phoenix, which I’m learning can be a challenging place for this hobby. I have been experimenting with Port. Afra and Bougenvilla, which I have found to be the most tolerant here in the desert. I have so many questions that it would take up too much of your time to respond, so I will start with one. I would love to work with other species, and was hoping to get recommendations on some that are good for beginners and that might be able to take our hot/dry summers. I appreciate any help you are willing to give me and I thank you for your time.
Scott
Embarrassing pics below

Attachments

• 7B85B8DA-B0C9-4100-BFDC-E9E0A7E4E9EB.jpeg
    7B85B8DA-B0C9-4100-BFDC-E9E0A7E4E9EB.jpeg
    395.2 KB · Views: 54
  • 008328FC-0AE0-47A4-ADEE-8691A2E7A30A.jpeg
    008328FC-0AE0-47A4-ADEE-8691A2E7A30A.jpeg
    500.9 KB · Views: 52
  • 1B7B6A35-D40E-4BB0-AF89-7824831BCE7C.jpeg
    1B7B6A35-D40E-4BB0-AF89-7824831BCE7C.jpeg
    418.1 KB · Views: 51
  • 4E2A78FF-6415-49A9-87B5-C92B0C4D64EC.jpeg
    4E2A78FF-6415-49A9-87B5-C92B0C4D64EC.jpeg
    345.4 KB · Views: 54

Bananaman

Chumono
Reaction score
On second thought those two saguro’s have some terrible reverse taper. May take a lot of work to fix that?

milehigh_7

Mister 500,000
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hot
Hello Bonsai Nuts