Ash tree propagation question

Gaijin

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
I have an Ash tree that I would like to propagate. I am new to propagation ( other than growing from seed) I have 5 Japanese maples that I am in the process of air-layering...but the success of that will not be determined for about another month.

So here is the question...This Ash is "suckering" at the base (pics attached) . The tissue is green (not lignified wood).
I am assuming a "cutting" would be the method? Could someone be kind enough to walk me through the process for this particular tree as illustrated?

Thank you
PXHgMNTTQ%mzv4MDXzLFUQ.jpgIfMehRtIQ%exRnKMQjBZGg.jpgPXHgMNTTQ%mzv4MDXzLFUQ.jpgIfMehRtIQ%exRnKMQjBZGg.jpg

Quince

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Do you have access to anything else?
...because a rosemary sprig would have more potential than a sucker from a dying ash tree. Heck, a seedling from that tree would be easier and give you closer internodes.

I'm not trying to discourage propegation. As someone who has been there, I'm just encouraging you to be choosy about the species/cultivars you invest in.

Gaijin

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Do you have access to anything else?
...because a rosemary sprig would have more potential than a sucker from a dying ash tree. Heck, a seedling from that tree would be easier and give you closer internodes.

I'm not trying to discourage propegation. As someone who has been there, I'm just encouraging you to be choosy about the species/cultivars you invest in.
That's not really a constructive or helpful answer.

I have access to pretty much whatever I choose to have access to. It's not about money or bonsai potential, it's propagation question.

Never mind, you all can go back to discussing important things, like "how much money is Bjorn worth", or rather or not some toxic asshole is leaving the forum or not.

AaronThomas

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8A