Awful pot alert!

moved on

Yamadori
Reaction score
Hi All,

I've got a slightly trivial question for you all from a relative neebie. I bought an orchard-style Jade bonsai on Bonsai Direct yesterday as I was feeling depressed after my pine seedlings weren't looking so good. Anyway, I'm a student so I wanted something not too pricey. The only way I could get a Jade bonsai (the species I particularly wanted) for my budget was to get it as a "Congratulations" gift bundle on the site. The image from Bonsai Direct's website is below:

jade.jpg

I love the tree, but the pot looks disgusting! I'm not a fan of the metallic look. I have pot of a similar size at home, so my question is whether is safe for me to transfer the new bonsai to the new pot straight away once it arrives. I know potting activity isn't usually done in the summer. If you think it will put the new bonsai under too much stress, I will put up with the terrible pot ... under sufferance.

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Did you get it already? May not even come in that pot.

Sorce

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
In answer to the original question: You can transplant Jade at any time of year, especially if you don't take too many roots. usually it is just a matter of lifting it out of one pot, dropping the whole roots ball into the new pot and adding a little potting mix to fill any gaps - no problem. Even if you need to trim a little bit away to fit into a smaller pot, jade will not even notice.
Just don't let it get cold

coltranem

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
The photo looks over exposed so who knows what that pot looks like in person. As @sorce said it might not even come in that pot or be that specific tree. So I would reserve judgement until you see it.

Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
I was feeling depressed after my pine seedlings weren't looking so good.