Azalea - Is it worth it?

Reaction score
So I been toying with growing a satsuki azalea for some time, having researched I decided this was likely silly as will take me three years just to get a three inch tall thing! I have found some here, I will add image as has price and description. Its £49 is that reasonable? For the size pictured, I have little knowledge of these only what I have been reading in preparation to purchase one.

image.jpg

bonsairxmd

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Matt Smith is selling some now on eBay (which is brussel's stock). 1-1.5" (2.54 -3.81 cm for those that live in smarter countries that use metric :) ) trunk diameter for $200-250 which includes shipping to the U.S. at least. Not sure the cost to ship to the U.K. but at least that gives you a price comparison.

I bought one. Very healthy but I'm afraid it won't do well in my heat in the Oklahoma summer. Have since gotten a few hybrids locally and a kurume.

I'm not sure of a good source for azalea in the U.K.

bonsairxmd

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
The one on the left looks ok to me for that price but the one on the right has too long of a trunk before the first branches come off. Its kinda a weird shape for azalea bonsai. I don't have enough experience with Satsuki to know how well it would backbud down the trunk for some lower branches though

Reaction score
I have no experience yet but yeah, I looked at the one to the right and thought it looks a bit 'leggy' I would need to email them I think and request actual pics of what they have, before purchase.

drew33998

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8-9
Seems a little expensive to me. I would think that someone in Europe would have better stock. It might cost more money to get. I think that it will be a long time before those will have a base impressive enough for bonsai. Unless you choose to do a literati/bunjin.

Reaction score