ScrogginsBonsai

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
4/5
Hello, I am new to Bonsai and have been doing a ton of research and have gathered my materials and have even shaped a couple of small beginner trees. My question is about my Japanese maple I was gifted. I need help getting the trunk to thicken and establishing a strong nebari. I got over zealous and have already wired it but am considering doing a major chop of it to get more thickness and lower growth. My question is what time of year (zone 4/5) is best for a major cut back, where on the tree is best to cut and is that even the best idea for what I've got?00100lPORTRAIT_00100_BURST20190714175342128_COVER.jpg Any help and advice would be hugely appreciated!

Paulpash

Masterpiece
Reaction score
It would be wise to remove the wire - it's not actually doing anything - it's far too thin and will probably end up cutting in and ruining the trunk.

To increase the trunk caliper ground growing is best but it will be 4-5 years before you see significant difference. In the meantime, I'd purchase something like a Chinese Elm that you can actually practice the joys of watering and fertilizing and generally keeping it horticulturally happy. Elms are fast growers and very forgiving of pruning & wiring mishaps all beginners face. Going to a club is the best way to learn more and more experienced folk might give you additional stuff to practice on.

Shinjuku

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
Welcome to bonsai, and welcome to the forum. I hope that you find this to be a rewarding and long-term hobby.