Backyard chicken people?

Backwardsvg

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Got my first egg from our ladies. Loving the fresh eggs and watching them and my bonsai grow.

Any other nutters have chickens?

Attachments

• 3B115281-C2B5-409D-9ED3-F5540E137A19.jpeg
    3B115281-C2B5-409D-9ED3-F5540E137A19.jpeg
    98 KB · Views: 3

Cajunrider

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9A
Not anymore but I am an old time chicken farmer. We used to raise them by the thousands. As a matter of fact, my uncle used to raise chicken for Tyson.

Backwardsvg

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Not anymore but I am an old time chicken farmer. We used to raise them by the thousands. As a matter of fact, my uncle used to raise chicken for Tyson.
Wow that is insane... you were an actual chicken farmer, we have 6 haha. But hey fresh eggs is fresh eggs.

Backwardsvg

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Cleaning chicken coop is not something people enjoy.
I am lucky in only having 6 and I am trying the deep litter method which is going very well. Minimal to no smell and only have to clean it out every 4-6 months.

I also built the coop to have a poop board under the roost so 90% of their poop is caught on the board so I just remove the board and scrape it off and then back in and clean!

Cajunrider

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9A
I am lucky in only having 6 and I am trying the deep litter method which is going very well. Minimal to no smell and only have to clean it out every 4-6 months.

I also built the coop to have a poop board under the roost so 90% of their poop is caught on the board so I just remove the board and scrape it off and then back in and clean!
Cleaning for 6 is easy. My uncle used to raise 10,000 per batch. Each batch took 7-8 weeks and he had to deliver every week so usually he had about 80,000 at his farm, not counting the egg laying hens.

Mapleminx

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone