Bad decisions pruning a Scots pine, any hope?

strauch

Seed
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am a bit new to bonsai, but I have a few trees I am proud of. Today I got a Scots pine that would be the biggest one I've worked on yet. I got a bit overzealous removing branches and am having a bit of remorse about it. I don't think there is an obvious choice for a leader left at all at this point, and I'm worried the branches I have are too old to get any back budding. I want to know if it seems like there is still something I could do wiring-wise to save the design, and whether or not the top branch that seems like a pseudo-leader is likely or not to backbud if I remove the end buds now. Thank you!

IMG_20200829_200503.jpg

0soyoung

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
It may survive, but it will be at least 2022 before its growing vigorously again.

You have an uppermost branch pointing horizontally to the right. In the sun the tip will likely point up by next spring and the tree will have done the obvious for you. Alternatively, you could put some wire on it and make that stem follow what you think would be a nice line upward. I don't understand why that isn't obvious to you?

btw, the usual challenge in making a bonsai is to get the foliage closer to the trunk and keep it there. So, instead of lopping all the branches off, you cut them back to nodes, those points where side shoots start. As I see it, every branch you kept is its original length and every one of them has more than one node to which you could have cut back. I don't recommend that you do it now, but next time.

strauch

Seed
Reaction score
It may survive, but it will be at least 2022 before its growing vigorously again.