What can I do?

• Chlorosis

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Poor soil

Votes: 1 100.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to the page. I live in south Florida and bought this BC from a nursery last winter while it was dormant. It was like 8' tall before I cut it down. It came back from dormancy perfectly but a month ago the oldest and strongest brach suddenly died and two other follow. I noticed a very pale green color on the leaflets too. I never re pot and was watering the tree twice a day. I added some organic mulch on top and cover with pine to conserve some moisture.
Any advice?

Thanks20170718_070141.jpg

johng

Omono
Reaction score
I find when the leaves are brown on the tips it's typically a lack of water problem....but it's always difficult to diagnose from a distance. grey leaf discoloration can often indicate root aphids as well...just lift it from the container and see if there is any cotton like growth in the root...looks like mychroriza(sp) on pines if you are familiar with how that looks....treat with Orthene ant killer if you see cotton....just sprinkle on surface and water in...

Has the new green growth all sprouted since the branches died? If so, I would guess it was a water issue...

GGB

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
I lost a few branches on one of mine this year. It sounds like you were watering yours a lot and I thought I was watering mine a lot. When it started happeing I assumed there was no way it could be too dry so I didn't correct the problem until the branch was half dead then I watered the crap out of it and it stabilized. Im in PA which is a way different climate but they certainly love water. What is the soil comprised of?

Last edited:
Reaction score