Baobab -- is this root rot?

hpwf

Seed
Reaction score
I'm a beginner so I have undoubtedly made a lot of mistakes here, but looking to learn! I have grown this baobab and it was doing really well but the last few weeks the leaves have begun looking like this. Reading around, I think it could be root rot? They didn't drop off in the winter and I'm thinking I may have it in the wrong place, but for the moment I really want to know what's happening here and what I can do to fix it?
Thanks for your help!

(Also I think this is the right place for this question, please let me know if it should be a different forum...)

Attachments

• 20220406_082122.jpg
    20220406_082122.jpg
    95.9 KB · Views: 38
  • 20220406_082113.jpg
    20220406_082113.jpg
    107.6 KB · Views: 38

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Welcome to Crazy!

These must come in and out of coolishness, seem to remember a bunch of info from some years back.
Try searching "baobab", you may find some good info.

Sorce

Mapleminx

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Oh dear, that’s not looking very happy 😬. Unfortunately I have never dealt with a baobab so I am not able to answer. BUT some of our resident South African members might have some insight!
@YukiShiro @Milly @SeanS @Stella @Snorlax99 and probably more that I don’t recall right now

Mapleminx

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I know there was someone in S.A with boababs and some massive jade plants but I can’t remember whooooo to link them in 😣😣😣

LittleDingus

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
@jason biggs has some nice baobabs and can maybe comment.

I had a couple of several different species for a few years. Last year was rough on them as we were prepping for a move and I wasn't paying them enough attention during a cool wet spring and most of them died of root rot. The rest I discarded to hopefully start again this spring in the new house.