Beech & elm - coming or going?

Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
Well, (apologies if this is a redundant post but I didn’t find anything...) coming to the end of spring cleaning and thinking I might have another casualty.
This European beech just hasn’t leafed out. I did the scratch test and there is still green, but I don’t know if it’s on it’s way out or what. These buds have been there forevvverrr. I’ve accidentally popped a few off when I’ve investigated it over these past months. I’ve never worked with this tree before.

On a side note, this elm, does anyone know what could be causing this random leaf yellowing and dropping? The tree looks healthy to me otherwise and I don’t see any pest issues....
8492A3B6-9C79-4FF7-87A4-F541926E1C9F.jpegE8C09ABE-9AAA-4D36-976E-0ED2972E7F38.jpeg94589A45-CFA7-4ABA-A737-F9C0EF5BC71C.jpeg

8378495E-6A7A-497C-92F6-54669F8E68B6.jpegCCEAEC05-9CC2-401B-BA7E-26EA80DF1808.jpeg307DB284-10B8-4910-B8E4-42551C2A981D.jpegBCA625DC-1B53-4BAB-919E-E760ECD5A212.jpeg

just.wing.it

Deadwood Head
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6B
If it's still green, just be careful not to over water it, but don't let it dry completely, and let it sit... maybe you'll get lucky.

The elm...
I dunno. My elm does that sometimes... usually not this early in the year... But I remove all questionable leaves as soon as I see them.

Edit:
A dose of Daconil couldn't hurt.

Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
If it's still green, just be careful not to over water it, but don't let it dry completely, and let it sit... maybe you'll get lucky.

The elm...
I dunno. My elm does that sometimes... usually not this early in the year... But I remove all questionable leaves as soon as I see them.

Edit:
A dose of Daconil couldn't hurt.
Yup! Did just that.
I’m trying not to fuss with it too much but u feel like it should be doing something by now. Guess we’ll just wait and see.

Hyn Patty

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone