beech ???

Brian Van Fleet

Pretty Fly for a Bonsai Guy
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8A
Hi Brian,

Not sure if you've seen this or not, but Harry Harrington has a great article on his website on developing branching on beech:

http://www.bonsai4me.com/SpeciesGuide/Beechadvancedpruning.htm

I have a couple of small beech (or is it beeches?) that I'm growing out right now, so I haven't tried his techniques yet.

Thanks, I'll take a closer look later. So far, it looks pretty consistent with an article in BT.

Layering article in BT = 48 & 49

Gary...you in town anytime soon?

donkey

Mame
Reaction score
Is it weird that it's pushing brown leaves?? Is that normal for this time of year?

I don't know about japanese beech, but for the standard european variety this is normal i have had plenty of experience with beech hedges.

the3rdon

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6A
Thanx donkey.. I am just looking for any hope that the previous owner didn't do too much damage for this tree to recupe.. The nicer the weather the better the tree is looking, so I'm hopeful..

donkey

Mame
Reaction score
Glad to be of help, it is not the new leaves that are brown it is protective scales which should shed around april for the south of england but mid may here in the west of scotland so if the habit of japanese beech is the same you should in a few day's/weeks see some bright pale green leaves

garywood

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
The first thing for me would be putting a fresh layer of soil on top if it isn't getting repotted. it needs to be planted deeper or raise the soil level. do you have a name :)
Wood
Brian, got home this week
Wood

the3rdon

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6A