Been out collecting

SlowMovingWaters

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5a
Hello everyone I'm new to both this site and bonsai in general. Bonsai had always interested me as a kid having grown up taking Tiquando classes and watching Japanese oriented movies such as the three ninja's and the karate kid. Over the years I had purchased a few walmart bonsai which had short lives unfortunately. Not having realized how much care these little plants needed they most likely dried up and died of thirst :(. Sorry if this sounds like a Cliché but it is entirely true.

Now on to the collecting.

Starting about a month or two ago I decided to get into bonsai by collecting local plants that looked like they might fit the bill. The first two were blueberry plants one a high bush the other a low bush. Now your probably thinking blueberries are not the most commonly used plants for bonsai and I knew this before collection. It was more of a I needed a plant to call my first attempt at bonsai if that makes sense. So far so good with the two blueberries by the way :). Every other time I've tried to transplant bb's from the wild they died these however have started to show signs of bud growth so something has to be going right.

Sorry for the crappy pics they were taken at like 1am with bad lighting.

1 Stem 11-7-12.jpg

Multi Stem 11-7-12.jpg

See next posts for more

Last edited:

Poink88

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Welcome to B-Nut!

Please update your profile with your location and zone if possible so you can get better advise.

SlowMovingWaters

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5a
Shortly after acquiring the blueberries I thought it would be a fun idea to try and grow a bonsai from seed. So I purchased some seeds labeled as "Chinese Elm" and "Japanese Maple" with no other information of strain or variety given the Elm as show below have sprouted and the Maples are still in the fridge hopefully sprouting.

Please see next post for the last collection