Beginner and her Monterey Cypress

Reaction score
I purchased this Monterey Cypress tree this weekend and would LOVE to find my peace and challenge myself to make this a bonsai tree. I’ve read so many things and don’t know where to start. I’d like it to get bigger a little and the branches are still little. Do I repot? And start training?
I am a beginner!

Attachments

• 40EE09BB-0958-4023-AD2D-69FA2CDA3DBD.jpeg
    40EE09BB-0958-4023-AD2D-69FA2CDA3DBD.jpeg
    305.2 KB · Views: 58

Fidur

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
My opinion is no good, as I am a begginer as well.
All I can tell you is that I did (in january) what you´re asking to...... Repotted in a shallow pot, pruned and wired. It´s cute, but it has no future.....I mean, I will have to repot in a wider container and be patient. I guess the best option is to observe it and learn how to grow it.....and in the next season you´ll be able to take informed decissions....
IMG_20210508_183829__01.jpg

I regret

Reaction score
My opinion is no good, as I am a begginer as well.
All I can tell you is that I did (in january) what you´re asking to...... Repotted in a shallow pot, pruned and wired. It´s cute, but it has no future.....I mean, I will have to repot in a wider container and be patient. I guess the best option is to observe it and learn how to grow it.....and in the next season you´ll be able to take informed decissions....
View attachment 376925

I regret
Thank you. I was thinking about leaving it for now to watch it grow more. But un decided to repot right away because I read about changing the soil could cause it to have damage.

Fidur

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
This is what I bought back in December: (about 20€ )

IMG_20201129_151231 (1).jpg

I was eager to begin "doing". Also I was risking almost nothing.
I went to internet to discover the details involved.
So I styled , repotted and wired two of them:
IMG_20210405_195415.jpgIMG_20210405_195404.jpg