Beginner Introduction

El Funko

Seed
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Not sure if this is allowed or not, so if not I'll delete the thread.

I'm just beginning my foray into this new hobby. I've been doing some research for a while, and for Christmas I asked for some basic tools and the DK book. I've added a few additional tools, through acquisition from my father and from Tian Bonsai on Aliexpress. I've sent in my registration to International Bonsai for Bill's Spring class. So I guess you could say I'm "all in" I just need some trees!

My dad bought these shears in the 80s. He always wanted to get into Bonsai, but never actually grew any trees. He did collect a number of pots (we've both grown succulents for a very long time), and these shears. Not a brand that's well known (Shiragiku - White Chrysanthemum) He's passed, so they're all mine now.

shears.jpg

This winter I'm researching trees, styles, local resources, and especially my future winter plans. I'm in Syracuse, NY zone 5b (although I live on a hill above the city, so I may be 5a). I have an unheated (and un-windowed) garage at my disposal, as well as some outdoor semi-sheltered areas that I could use. I plan to focus on trees that will thrive in my climate, so I'm not sure yet how much protection they'll need. I put a thermometer in my garage in a spot that I could set aside for some trees next year, it's against the south wall. I'll record what temps I get there at some various cold days this year.

In order to keep my wife on the team, we'll also be looking for some "indoor" bonsai. During a visit to a local nursery yesterday she fell in love with an outgrown ficus ginseng. Not really my ideal, but as I say this is going to be a team effort. I'd like to find a Chinese Elm or Fukien Tea at some point also. I also have some Portulacaria afra and Crassula ovata that I can play with.

ficus1.jpg ficus root1.jpg