Beginner needing critique on styling

BrierPatch

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Hi All, I'm new to Bonsai and this forum so I thought I'd reach out for some critique on my work and I'm sure on everything I'm doing wrong :/ I went to a local nursery for some landscape material and they were clearing out all their Hinoki's so I got a great price and figured I'd work on them even though they may not be the best beginner material. Below are before and after pics of where I'm at so far in the process. Still needs more work to go...

Before-and-After-Hinoki-WellsSpecial-20210926-800.jpg

Cypress187

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Welcome to the forum!

I don't know if this is the best time of the year and I wouldn't have taken off so much in 1 go with conifers.

BrierPatch

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Welcome to the forum!

I don't know if this is the best time of the year and I wouldn't have taken off so much in 1 go with conifers.
Thanks Cypress for the reply. Wasn't sure either if it was the best time but from what I researched pruning can be done during Autumn. I too was thinking I was taking too much off and figured I better stop, so hopefully it will recover from the stress.
The other two I picked up I only wired one with no real pruning and left one alone. I only placed them in a new pot for a bit more room.

BrightsideB

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Welcome, we all learn from each other. I would of left the bottom limbs and cut down the apex branches in hopes to form a new apex. Then next season thinned it keeping branches that had foliage closest to the trunk. When I started I also removed a lot from a hinoki and repotted in one go. It took two years for it to regain health and three years to regain full health to where it was growing well again.

BrierPatch

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b