Beginner with soil question

vario

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Hi I am just getting into the bonsai hobby. I have bought a Parson's Juniper, a San Jose Juniper, and a Birds Nest Spruce from the local nursery that I will be turning into my first bonsai s. I have a question about soils for these plants. I was going to put them all in conventional clay pots and potting soil at first for a few months and prune and stake, maybe wire them in that environment first (hoping this would be more forgiving of mistakes), then move them to bonsai pots in the late summer/early fall. I live in the mid atlantic region of the US.

I have
1) Hartz's PH5 Cat litter, seems to be mostly clay particles with no strange additives.
2) Red Lava Rock, which I probably need to crush into smaller chunks
3) Coarse Sand, which is closer to sharp pebbles
4) well composted potting soil from the garden, most of our plants seem to like it a lot

Would any of these comprise a decent mix and in what proportion would you guys suggest? Do I need anything else?

Last edited:

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Do I need anything else?

A camera and a dime!

Car litter sounds suspect.
(Napa 8822 isn't.)

Course sand sounds good...
Maybe with some potting soil.

I'm a certified caveman...
And I won't even smash rocks!

Sifted Napa 8822 works fine.

Iffin you ain't gonna use Boon Mix.

Welcome to Crazy!

Sorce

vario

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
alright I will look into the napa thanks for the help

Paradox

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Cat litter in the U.S. is not usable for bonsai soil. The lava rock is good if you can get it into small enough pieces.
Some people use Napa Oil dry. I dont so I cant speak to how well it works. The gravel is ok as a soil additive to take up some volue and save a little bit on the expensive soils, but it cant be used by itself because it doesnt retain moisture.