Best time/frequency to defoliate a privet?

Rustinj74

Seed
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
I'm new to bonsai and figured I'd learn by starting with a pretty hardy species. I dug up a privet in February and it's already looking nice (pictures soon). I'm curious about what time of year to defoliate and how often. So far, I've just been pinching and wiring. Im not sure if it's climate dependent, but I live in Alabama and I don't believe they ever drop their leaves here. Any tips would be greatly appreciated!

JudyB

Queen of the Nuts
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Hi Rustin, welcome.
Can I ask why you are defoliating? I only ask because the purpose of defoliation for the most part, is either to get smaller leaves (for bonsai that have reached a finished or nearly so state) or to have a second flush of leaves for better fall coloration. Since privet mostly gets the same color no matter what, you may not need or want to defoliate, unless you have a "finished" tree.
Even in Alabama, once the leaves have served their purpose, and get old enough, it will shed the old and put on new leaves. You may not notice it so much, as it may happen a few at a time, but it'll do it on it's own. When you defoliate trees, it slows down the growing process, so with your fairly newly collected tree, you may not want this. Looking forward to photos!

PaulH

Omono
Reaction score
I've got several privets and have defoliated them as much as three times a year and they just keep going strong.

Judy, there's a third reason to defoliate. With privets each defoliation gives you a new burst of buds and the tree ramifies that much more quickly.

Paul

JudyB

Queen of the Nuts
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Thanks Paul, I was unsure about that, which is why I said "for the most part".
I haven't had very much experience with privet... I have a small one, perhaps I should give that a shot!
:D

Rustinj74

Seed
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a