Best trees to collect in Georgia

tylerwdesign

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
Hey guys,
I'm new to collecting trees, and bonsai in general. I'm wondering what species of tree I should be on the look out for in Georgia, more specifically about 30 miles south of Atlanta. My family has a few hundred acres of cow pastures, so there are open pastures, a few streams and a small lake, so a nice variation of terrain for the relatively small amount of land. They will be clearing some of the land later on this year, otherwise I would just mark the trees and wait to collect once I had more experience, which I will do in the areas they wont be clearing. I am interested in any species that would be good for bonsai, but being new to this, any species that are easier to collect and keep alive would be ideal. Im planning on going down sometime in the next few weekends, which from what I've read seems to be a good time for collecting here.

Also what would be the best way to keep any really nice material I might find that I wouldn't be using until I have the skills to do it right. Or should I keep it the same as a tree that I plan on working on once it has recovered? Thanks in advance!

*If this topic has already been covered please feel free to point me to the thread. I couldn't find what I was looking for when I searched.

tylerwdesign

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
Thanks! I know I've seen sweetgum and winged elm. Hopefully I can find some good ones.

Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
As was said before, American Hornbeam are lots of fun. American Beech for longer term projects, hop hornbeam, 50 some-odd species of hawthorns in GA, winged elms, red maple, prunus, bald/pond cypress, water elm, wisteria, hackberry.

Lots of trees to choose from. If you see something beyond your years that’s worth waiting for, wait. Collect small but interesting trees and learn which species can take abuse and which are more tender. Have a plan for collecting, processing and aftercare.