Best way to propagate this?

MattE

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
3b
Since I bought this tree alittle over a year ago..in this one grafted section I can see an amazing future bonsai in 5 to 10 years.. I only have one chance to get this to root. I have done alot of reading on propagation and ficus.. some say cut it stick it in dirt it will root it's a ficus. Others say place in water strip alittle bit of cambium away ect. Any tips and tricks would be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• 20190525_093434.jpg
    20190525_093434.jpg
    116.4 KB · Views: 46
  • 20190525_093401.jpg
    20190525_093401.jpg
    127.8 KB · Views: 50
  • 20190525_093343.jpg
    20190525_093343.jpg
    121.6 KB · Views: 44
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
You can always airlayer it if loosing the cutting is too much of a risk. Perhaps some members with indoor growing experience would know more about what the cutting may appreciate, like a humidity tent etc. I have no experience with that.

MattE

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
3b
You can always airlayer it if loosing the cutting is too much of a risk. Perhaps some members with indoor growing experience would know more about what the cutting may appreciate, like a humidity tent etc. I have no experience with that.
Thank you , i was thinking of air layer but it does intimidate me lol.

Tbwilson33

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Thank you , i was thinking of air layer but it does intimidate me lol.

Don’t let it. I watched probably 7 or 8 different videos and just went for it and it was a great feeling to see it root. My first one was on a tiger bark ficus. I’m not sure if that’s what you have but I know it’s a ficus. Go for it

cbroad

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
thinking of air layer
I was thinking that too, as long as the plant seems healthy. If you try it, make sure it's getting good light, preferably outside; looks like you might be keeping it indoors.