Big Haw!

Woocash

Omono
Reaction score
Nice tree @Aeast! This thread is going to be a year ahead of my first collections, with several being large hawthorns, so to be able to follow your development with this one will be very interesting and educational. Very exciting.

A question for the experienced folk (@Leo in N E Illinois, @Tieball, @Mike Hennigan etc) The wood thats now a year old on this tree will have hardened off substantially and will be difficult to bend at branch unions to an angle anywhere near horizontal at a point close to the trunk. So how can this be combatted to give a realistic aesthetic in the future without the up, down sort of movement?

Tieball

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
I’m not an expert. Not that experienced. Not even close. But here’s what I did in a similar situation. I picked a branch that I probably would not want anyway and tested it for bending. I wasn’t able to bend too much...but I did find I had some level of flexibility in the branch yet. I arrowed two branches on your tree...they result in bar branches. You’d likely eliminate one anyway. Give the elimination branch a try. You might find you cam impact the angle and keep what you have for branches. Perhaps others have a better solution or opinion though.

In my situation...there was not really enough flex to make a difference for wiring or . I ended up cutting the branches off and starting over in spring before bud swell time. I left about a 1/2” stub where each branch was. I cut the branches off just above where I detected a small bud waiting for a glorious opportunity to shine. A new branch grew.....essentially I was starting over.