Birch apple maple willow?

Kizerk

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Hey all, I am relatively new to the hobby and I am looking for some advice for on what trees can succeed at raft and clump styles.

I have a bunch of 2 and 3 year of seedlings ordered for this spring season:
trident maple
Amur Maple (Acer ginnala)
Paper birch (Betula papyrifera)
Midwest Crabapple (Malus baccata, manchurian)
Siberian Crabapple (Malus baccata)
Weeping willow

Of these species I know thirdent maples are perfectly fine doing a "in a hole method" but I was wondering which others would be worth trying to clump in that way or any more traditional methods?

I was also wondering if anyone has had any success trying to raft style a river birch? I have a small pre-bonsai river birch that is almost parallel to the ground and I think could make for a great raft with its current branching but can't find any examples of birch rafts (will attach photos).

Thanks for any help or suggested reading that might help with the coming spring season.

Frozentreehugger

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone