Birch or Elm?

RKatzin

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Since I've had this tree I've thought it was a type of birch. Looking at it today I'm not certain. The leaf is very elm-like, but the bark is flakey like a birch and there's no knobbyness on the branches like most elm.

Can anyone tell from the crappy pics what this tree is? Thanks for looking, Rick

Attachments

• trees 2014 122.jpg
    trees 2014 122.jpg
    65 KB · Views: 66
  • trees 2014 123.jpg
    trees 2014 123.jpg
    51.5 KB · Views: 67
  • trees 2014 124.jpg
    trees 2014 124.jpg
    48.7 KB · Views: 57
  • trees 2014 128.jpg
    trees 2014 128.jpg
    106.4 KB · Views: 60
  • trees 2014 125.jpg
    trees 2014 125.jpg
    104.8 KB · Views: 58

johng

Omono
Reaction score
based on the leaf shape and flakey/papery bark I strongly suspect this is a birch. I am no expert though...especially with western species.

RKatzin

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I don't recall any catkins this spring, but I just cut the grass around it and got a good look at it. It was poorly when I got it a few years back and it has struggled the past couple of seasons. I thought I'd lost her, but it looks like shes got a good bite this year and I'm seeing alot of new shoots and robust foliage.

I have three other birch and none have this short, dull green leaf. They all have shiney greens, longer fingers and more pronounced serration. They also have the characteristic white birch bark. Could this be a variety of River Birch (Betula nigra)?

GrimLore

Bonsai Nut alumnus... we miss you
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
River Birch are common here and I am pretty certain it is. I not certain what types are common there but I would not doubt it. The bark on those gets pretty "wild" and if it were mine it would be in a box and positioned as wanted in a pot in the future. In my book that is a good find. How tall and wide is it?

Grimmy

RKatzin

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone