Bjorn Bjorholm Speaks Out On Hedge Pruning

PABonsai

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
Not surprising as he was classically trained in Japan. I too noticed he mentioned that on one of his early podcasts.

coh

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
He made a passing remark about it a few podcasts ago and apparently got inundated with "bonsai hate mail" (thus the title of this podcast).

Adair M

Pinus Envy
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Wow! Excellent podcast, @coh!

I was unaware of Bjorn’s podcasts, he does an excellent job describing what happens with bonsai. Bonsai, to me, is very visual, and to describe it aurally, so vividly takes a lot of talent! Well done!

Woocash

Omono
Reaction score
Yes, good podcast. It was a bit, “I’ve been taught this way and any other thinking is just wrong”. I’m not experienced in either method yet, but I can see where he’s coming from. I just wish people didn’t get so precious about the methods they use. Even when he said it was fine for people not to like Japanese trees etc, he did so in a derogatory manner.

For example, I’m a trained luthier of orchestral double basses. I no longer work at the company, but I was a restorer of old master instruments. We’d hear through the grapevine about people and other luthiers all over the world pooh poohing our techniques and how we weren’t doing things in the traditional way or that we hadn’t been to an official luthier school or studied under this master or that master, but the problem was, our instruments and restorations were top class. They sounded amazing, they were strong, looked good and once in an orchestral setting, no one could argue with the results. Still the detractors carry on bleating, because we were cheaper, getting better results, and more clientele.

I’m not saying Bjorn is wrong, but just because somebody does something differently doesn’t mean their methods or results are sub par. It depends what you’re aiming for, at the end of the day.

bonsai45

Sapling