Black dots and powder on needles.

ibresk

Seedling
Reaction score
Hello everyone!

My first post on the forum, I'm very new to bonsai so thanks for the help!

I recently purchased a juniper from a nursery that was not in excellent condition, but I thought it was better to practice and learn how to care this specie on a cheap plant.

Instead of cutting severely I just put it in full sun, cleaned it removing dead needles and removing very few branches to allow aeration and more uniform sun exposure.

But after a couple of months I'm starting to fear a fungal infestation.
Tips of previous years growth are getting yellow and falling little by little. I can see dry needles with black stains and a sort of powder on the little branches.

Do you have any recommandation?

Many many thanks.

Attachments

• IMG_20230523_140326__01.jpg
    IMG_20230523_140326__01.jpg
    84.9 KB · Views: 74
  • IMG_20230523_134432__01.jpg
    IMG_20230523_134432__01.jpg
    126.4 KB · Views: 56
  • IMG_20230523_134254__01.jpg
    IMG_20230523_134254__01.jpg
    160.2 KB · Views: 77

Paradox

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Looks like a fungal infection to me.

Recommendation: spray for fungus and try to keep the foliage from getting wet when you water.

A copper based fungal spray for plants should work.

Also put your location on your profile so we know where you are and can give proper advice

August44

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5-6

Recommendation: spray for fungus and try to keep the foliage from getting wet when you water.

Also put your location on your profile so we know where you are and can give proper advice
Just wondering Paradox, would cleary's work as well for these fungus problems on different trees or not?

Paradox

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Just wondering Paradox, would cleary's work as well for these fungus problems on different trees or not?

It should yes. Cleary's is a good product