Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm brand new to bonsai and after finding two growing in my garden, I've decided to give it a go. Please note that I'm not strictly following the rules of composition but more just making something I think is nice on the eyes.

There is very little info out there about this tree and I was wondering if anyone has any experience and is willing to share some tips and tricks?

I'm already quite savvy with my plant knowledge and I grow all sorts of things successfully but I've heard Black Locust can die off quickly, drop branches and what not.

Here she is so far....

Attachments

• 20200523_191125.jpg
    20200523_191125.jpg
    253.8 KB · Views: 38

AaronThomas

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8A
Hey there! Welcome!
Nice pre-bonsai material you got there.
I don't have any experience in growing Robinia Pseudoacacia but there is in fact a lot of info about them on the web.
The beauty of Purple or Black Locust bonsai is their gnarled trunks and small leaves imo. If it were mine I probably would have left in your garden for a few more seasons to fatten up... your current container is small and as Im sure you know will slow down the growth of the tree.
What is in the pot as far as soil... looks like dirt? Dirt is fine for growing in the ground but potted is less than ideal for a tree.
You can find a ton of info on BN about soil (not soil at all) choices.
Plant knowledge is a great start but growing a tree in a pot is a totally different ball game than growing plants or flowers.
Hopefully someone will chime in that has experience growing these...
GOOD LUCK!!!!

Reaction score
Apologies, I meant there was not a lot of info on the web about bonsai Black Locust. I've actually never heard of purple locust which is quite unusual for me. I've been researching a lot about bonsai lately but obviously I'm lacking the experience lol.