Black Pine Training

Bonsai Bonanza

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
20210205_103253.jpg I'm new to bonsai but have jumped in with both feet because I'm a bored gardener. I ordered this black pine in the mail with intent of training it to be Cascading. I'm wondering if now is a good time to repot and wire or should I wait until spring is here? I live in zone 8b

Wires_Guy_wires

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
You can wire now, but wait with the repot until spring. Check out the 6 year JBP contest too! That material is roughly the same age.
If this is a grafted pine, make sure you don't put any pressure on the graft itself because it might break. Also, if it's grafted, be prepared for people saying something about that graft. It's usually considered to be a flaw.

Bonsai Bonanza

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
You can wire now, but wait with the repot until spring. Check out the 6 year JBP contest too! That material is roughly the same age.
If this is a grafted pine, make sure you don't put any pressure on the graft itself because it might break. Also, if it's grafted, be prepared for people saying something about that graft. It's usually considered to be a flaw.
I do not think it's a graft. I bought it as being advertised as a 1 year seedling. Unfortunately I don't know how to tell either. Thank you so much for your expert advise.

HorseloverFat

Squarepants with Conkers
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5a
Grass skirt-laden undulations in your direction, traveler! The Woody Dwarves would like to see your finest dance-steps... hear the strummed melody of your very soul.. tonight, at the festival... deep within The Tiny Forest!

I’m Pinus(Pine) Illiterate, but MANY here are the exact opposite (including the advice you already received)

I’m just, “*clicks tongue* Yah!”-ing my welcome wagon in your direction, after hearing Wires_Guy’s voice, conversing with a new traveler ‘round the bend.