Blue Spruce dropping needles after repot

BosaiMayer

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8A
Hey folks,

I'm pretty new to the hobby though I do have a couple of trees already; I finally decided that I'd like to try training my first tree. I had purchased a little blue spruce tree over Christmas from a local grocery store mainly because it was about $5 and I liked how it smelled. Well, it's survived in it's little pot and I thought it'd be a good time to repot it, but a couple of days after I've noticed a couple of the needles have started to drop off and some are browning.

After the repot I watered quite heavily and over the past four days I've been been using "Super Thrive" as per my local bonsai shop here in Dallas, TX. Still new to the game here folks so I'm trying to give all the information that I know you're likely to ask. The soil I used was from the pot the tree was in and also some additional soil I took from our garden. I used fluorite aquarium gravel on top of the substrate (I used it in my live planted tanks and it supposed to have nutrients that are good for plants - my tanks are doing quite well and I don't dose CO2)

I've moved the tree to an area where it receives morning sun but is shaded in the afternoon; is this the right move to make? Any other thoughts/advice?

*edit - please forgive the grass, it's a rental and the landlord refuses to replant after the previous renters dogs destroyed the yard...it's a matter of principle at this point!

Thank you,

-Matt

Ok, here are the pics!

Pot I started with:

Tree in original pot:

Repotted with gravel and lava rock:

GrimLore

Bonsai Nut alumnus... we miss you
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b