Blue Spruce help needed......

greerhw

Omono
Reaction score
I'm new to the species and need some help with keeping the foliage in check and maybe induce some back budding closer to the trunk. What about pruning where and when ? Thanks in advance for your help.

keep it green,
Harry

Attachments

• DSC00153.jpg
    DSC00153.jpg
    42.4 KB · Views: 160
  • DSC00152.jpg
    DSC00152.jpg
    37.1 KB · Views: 173

TheSteve

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
These will back bud if you look at them crooked. They like to be wetter than most conifers but never style and repot in the same year. Give it a light trim Harry while you're thinking on the tree and it'll give Marco plenty to work with next year.

redvw5

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Very nice, where did you get this material. When I see cbs at most nurseries it just looks like a x-mas tree.

shohin kid

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Send Walter an email, I am sure you have seen some of his spruce.

Dwight

Chumono
Reaction score
Harry , I've tried three or four of these from the nursery ( the X-mass tree type ) and never been able to keep one alive. Maybe next spring I'll try again and bug you for advice. Good luck with this one.

noissee

Mame
Reaction score
Don't you think texas would be a little too hot for this type of tree? I would even be wary trying to grow it in OK.

greerhw

Omono
Reaction score
Don't you think texas would be a little too hot for this type of tree? I would even be wary trying to grow it in OK.

That's why I didn't spend too much money on it, if it does well, who knows. They do well in the landscape here.

keep it green,
Harry

Dwight

Chumono
Reaction score

theye're supposed too. West Texas isn't really Texas in a way. Our altitude in EP averages about 4000 ft and some folk have luck with blue spruce in the landscape. I suspect the biggest problem is underwatering. It's as dry here as in Colorado.

Vance Wood

Lord Mugo
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5-6