Bonsai Care Index?

Kodama

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5B
Hey BNuts!
Just curious if anyone knows of a resource where you can look up your tree type and climate zone and it will give you a seasonal care chart of what work can be done in that zone by the season? I have a couple books with general seasonal care chart for a few species but none address local climate. I believe experience will ultimately be the real teacher. However, as a beginner I find myself searching alot of sites, books, videos and separate material trying to put the pieces together in which this site has been the best resource so far. Just didn't know if there is another resource out there that would advise by zone as a general simple guide? Should one be built? Would it be used? Thoughts?

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
Good luck with finding such a resource. It is commonly known that when you ask 6 bonsai people the same question you are likely to get 7 different answers so there is little hope of getting a coherent resource on seasonal tasks for a single tree let alone a whole lot of species.
The real truth is that care can vary quite a lot from one place to another.
There also seems to be multiple successful ways to mange most trees. Many of them survive despite what we do rather than because of it.
There are also new ways regularly emerging that can make traditional care obsolete.

i think the best way is to glean what you can and try to find a common thread to start with then don't be afraid to experiment looking for improvements.

Pj86

Yamadori
Reaction score
The best resource I have found to compare climates is this website https://weatherspark.com/ . When I get suggestions from a person in another climate zone I typically compare their seasonal weather to gauge timing.

Dav4

Drop Branch Murphy
Reaction score
SE MI- Bonsai'd for 12 years both MA and N GA
USDA Zone
6a