Bonsai from Home Depot

Kage

Seed
Reaction score
Hi everyone.. just got a bonsai from Home Depot and I'm brand new to this. Trying to figure out what kind of bonsai it is and how to care for it.

The worker at the store didn't seem to know much except he said give it plenty of water.. which from I'm reading is not neccesarily the case with bonsai. Also, google searches flood me with so much info but not direct info if ya get what I'm saying.

So any help here would be greatly appreciated! Literally need all the help I can get. The tag says house plant and they had it inside but I'm not even sure if that's correct.

Thanks in advance!!

Attachments

• img_1596761569023.jpg
    img_1596761569023.jpg
    159.2 KB · Views: 86

StarGazer

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a
Looks like a chinese juniper (juniperus chinensis). Keep outdoors and water daily. Hope the soil is not glued...

Kage

Seed
Reaction score
Looks like a chinese juniper (juniperus chinensis). Keep outdoors and water daily. Hope the soil is not glued...
Thank you. Yes the rocks are glued like one big rock, not even sure how to tell if it needs water. Also, thought it was an indoor bonsai as per the tag and the fact they had it inside. I really don't have a place to keep it outside:(

Rivian

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Thank you. Yes the rocks are glued like one big rock, not even sure how to tell if it needs water. Also, thought it was an indoor bonsai as per the tag and the fact they had it inside. I really don't have a place to keep it outside:(
If you can only provide a place indoors, get a ficus. There are many species and they root easily from cuttings. Add your location to your profile and ask for young plants that can be grown indoors, there is a subforum for trees you are looking for at the bottom of the forum list.

Kage

Seed
Reaction score