Bonsai guidance

Jamboy95

Seedling
Reaction score
Hi there, I’m new to this game and would love some guidance. I have been growing my Japanese mountain pine for about 10 weeks now and I would love it if someone could clear up a could of questions of mine seems as I don’t have much of a clue but I’m wanting to learn.
Is my bonsai looking healthy?
how regular should I feed/ water my bonsai?
And when should I re-pot my bonsai? Thank you! All your help is much appreciated😁

coltranem

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Please post pictures and add you location. It will be hard to give good advice without these.

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
Welcome to Bonsai nut. I'd love to help but there's no photos - yet.
Use 'attach files' button below the reply box. Files will need to be less than 1mb I think before the site will accept them so you may need to reduce file size a bit first.

It also helps to add a general location to your profile because advice might be different for different parts of the world. This is particularly important when talking about repotting times.

coltranem

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Thanks for adding the picture. These will not need to be repotted until they out grow that pot. Are you growing these inside? Pines should be grown outside. However assuming you are in the northern hemisphere and in a cooler climate it might be difficult to make that transition now. It depends. If you add your location to you profile it will help others give advice.

For watering wait until the pot is fairly dry. Pick up the pot periodically. You'll be able to get a feel for its weight when it needs water. I'd let them get a little bigger before adding any fertilizer.

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
OMG - so tiny. You have a really long way to go to get these to be bonsai but don't be discouraged they are at least on the way.