AlterEgoX

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a
Hi y'all! 👋😁

This is a 2 part post.

Part 1)

I'm a bonsai newbie with a recently bought Juniper. I've been doing research and checking things out on here, but would appreciate if anyone could give a general checkup. It's got just a small patch of yellowing tips and a spot of some browning on a few inner branches and would like to know if they are a problem and some ideas to help.

Some info to help:
- I live in Orange County, CA
- Bonsai is kept outdoors
- I water only when the chopstick I have in the soil appears almost dry
- I've attached pictures of the tree, the soil, and the little areas I'm worried about

Part 2)

I would like to grow this bonsai bigger, and would like to know if my plan sounds viable

Plan:

- Repot to a bigger, black plastic grow pot (Not sure when to do this, maybe toward the end of January?)
- fertilize with 10-10-10 through winter, spring, and summer
- wire the tree during this December

Any tips or info would be so helpful. Thank you in advanced if you reply! 🙏😁

Attachments

• Browning.JPG
    Browning.JPG
    233.3 KB · Views: 61
  • General Tree.JPG
    General Tree.JPG
    244.1 KB · Views: 54
  • Soil.JPG
    Soil.JPG
    218.7 KB · Views: 55
  • Yellowing Tips.JPG
    Yellowing Tips.JPG
    217.5 KB · Views: 58

Wires_Guy_wires

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
Older foliage dying and drying is perfectly normal. Your juniper is a male, those yellow thingies on the branch tips are pollen cones in development. In a couple weeks they'll expand and become puffy, then drop their pollen in the wind.