Bonsai newbie

Darkskywalker

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
4A
I'm just starting this hobby, I have very little growing experience. I do have small pond with various perennials. I just started a bonsai kit with 4 different trees, got them planted. Now I want to start some Cherry Blossoms and Junipers. I ordered seeds, but I am have trouble finding the righr soil to use. I see Bonsai soil on Amazon, but some of reviews say it looks like plain potting soil. Can anyone recommend type of soil and a good place to buy? Also what kind of fertilizer should I use on the Cherry Blossoms? The Cherry Blossoms are what I really want to grow. Any advice for a noob would be appreciated.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20210227-092741_Chrome.jpg
    Screenshot_20210227-092741_Chrome.jpg
    99 KB · Views: 18

HorseloverFat

Squarepants with Conkers
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5a
Greetings, Stranger. Glad you found the “message in a bottle”, pitched to the tide by the Woody Dwarves. Beckoning you here, to the Tiny Forest.

Ok... let’s get some preliminary “mumbo jumbo” RIGHT out of the way. :)

You are going to want to update your profile to reflect a location or climate zone. (It can be vague, mine just says, “Northeastern Wisconsin”) this way advice given will be pertinent to YOUR situation... ‘tis a large world.

What trees do you have already?

Where are you keeping them?

Seed-growing is a very long, TRULY rewarding process... it will be important for you to get yourself some OTHER trees to work on... or you possibly may “love” your seedlings to death.

What is the area you will be “doing plants“ in?