Bonsai or Bonsai’s

Hartinez

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Completely stupid thread warning. But I had to! When talking our hobby in the plural do we refer to a group of “bonsai” or “bonsai’s”?

I’m pretty sure it’s “bonsai”, but I’m no expert at this language and don’t speak none too good.

it reminds of a a small town in northern New Mexico called Pojuaque. There mascot is the Elk, and we used to always tease the cheerleaders because they would say Elk’s. But Elk is singular and plural and wellll....

My goodness, dumb thread I know.

back to bonsai/bonsai’s.

0soyoung

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
And, it is a noun, bonsai.

But, it has been 'American-ized' into a verb --> "You ought to bonsai that tree"
an adjective --> "Is that a bonsai tree?"
and a gerund --> "On BNut, people talk about bonsai-ing trees"

It is natural to expect that we would make it into an adverb, but adverbs died decades ago. :eek:

Now that we are on the subject, what is the future perfect tense of the verb bonsai?

rockm

Spuds Moyogi
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Completely stupid thread warning. But I had to! When talking our hobby in the plural do we refer to a group of “bonsai” or “bonsai’s”?

I’m pretty sure it’s “bonsai”, but I’m no expert at this language and don’t speak none too good.

it reminds of a a small town in northern New Mexico called Pojuaque. There mascot is the Elk, and we used to always tease the cheerleaders because they would say Elk’s. But Elk is singular and plural and wellll....

My goodness, dumb thread I know.

back to bonsai/bonsai’s.
Bonsai--period...Like deer ain't deers...;-)

Hartinez

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
And, it is a noun, bonsai.

But, it has been 'American-ized' into a verb --> "You ought to bonsai that tree"
an adjective --> "Is that a bonsai tree?"
and a gerund --> "On BNut, people talk about bonsai-ing trees"

It is natural to expect that we would make it into an adverb, but adverbs died decades ago. :eek: