Bonsai or hydroponics?

markreeve

Seed
Reaction score
Hi

I'm new to bonsai nut and this is my first post.

I'm just getting back into bonsai after a long break. Since my last venture into this world I see the use of inert potting mediums are now popular with some people. I've tried some with a few of my recent young aquisitions.

My observation is that this now seems to be growing bonsai with hydroponics. Is this a fair comparison? If so has anyone tried using the hydroponic nutrient solutions rather than standard garden centre feeds? These are used on a daily basis using various watering techniques, some of which are automated. If someone has used them what have been the results?

I'm having a go with daily feed with regular fertilisers. Results so far are good. Yes the growth is rather course but I'm just trying to get some girth quickly at the moment and the weather her in Scotland has not been condusive to rapid tree growth recently, except for plenty of natural water!

Thanks in advance for any comments or info you experienced guys can give this newbie.

Mark

daygan

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Essentially, if you understand that the definition of hydroponics is growing plants without an organic soil medium and providing nutrients directly via a nutrient-water solution, I think it's pretty safe to say that what a number of us are doing really is technically hydroponics (a specialized form, but hydroponics nonetheless). I think a few of us have come to that conclusion, actually. I don't know squat about the technicalities of fertilizer, so I wouldn't personally know what to say about the use of hydroponic nutrient solutions, but I'm sure there are some here who might have some opinions about that.

davetree

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I have used those fertilizers on my bonsai. I am not sure how much better they are, supposedly the good ones are cleaner. I know they smell better than your regular fish fert.

logan3

Yamadori
Reaction score