Bonsai or just trees in pots?

blb110

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
I seem to like this size of tree. I am new to be bonsai and have some smaller trees. Are these bigger trees even bonsai or just landscape trees?2C6967CC-69FB-4C9C-801B-C3912881E74C.jpegF1CC936E-19BA-4FB2-A06E-13D01579FDC4.jpegB9B7A493-EC78-42B8-860B-41CC2BBB3B42.jpeg2AB4F0A0-B2C0-4A99-9A04-67AB9D42B8B0.jpeg

Bonsai Nut

Nuttier than your average Nut
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
Trees in pots... atm. Just like oil paintings are simply oil and canvas before an artist starts to work.

Do you look at any of these trees and feel that you are looking at an ancient tree in the wild? Does it create an emotional response, like when you are walking through a grove of giant sequoias? Does it stop you in your tracks and you say "wow"?

HorseloverFat

Squarepants with Conkers
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5a
In addition to what @Bonsai Nut
is saying.

While there ARE large.. bonsai trees... quite large in some cases...

The methods in which you train a bonsai tree, are essentially MINIATURIZED versions of that same tree... full-sized, exposed to all sorta of natural events that age, shape and mature a tree... the trees that STAND out of the 100's of Thousands that you see....

Miniaturized, Ancient nature...

The INTENT and attention to scale and taper is partially what creates this. It's the work you put IN...

You'll see soon enough, I'm sure. ;)

On the plus side.. you have some DECENT (said like Bubbles) material to begin with, If I'm being honest.

Soak up some Youtube videos

Just search "Bonsai from Nursery Stock"... look for some of the species you have...

I STRONGLY recommend checking out the "Growing Bonsai by Jelle" channel. SUPER informative and entertaining.

Peruse the threads... search "Nursery Stock".

Keep us posted..

HorseloverFat

Squarepants with Conkers
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5a
Thank you, sounds like I just like to use bonsai pruning and potting techniques on landscape plants :)