Bonsai pots on grass or stand? Help, slugs and bugs are attacking!

Hump

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Nuts,

I guess I never thought of this until now. I'm still a newbie, going on year 2 here. I'm having an issue with bugs (mainly slugs, beetles, sap beetles, pill bugs, and worms) getting in my growing medium in my pots. I have a few of my pots on my concrete back porch, which don't have as much of an issue, but the majority are just sitting in the grass and the soil is filled with bugs. Is sitting the pots in grass an issue with anyone else? I would put in the ground, but I'm a renter and I have about 13 trees which would be an issue.

About every month, I normally add a small amount of insecticide in my watering, but it hasn't helped. I've also add slug bait around the pots, but it doesn't seem to of had an effect either. I'm starting to think I'm supposed to put these on a stand or something?

Any feedback would be really appreciated! Thank you!

Hump

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
You don’t want them sitting on the grass. Buy a couple cinder blocks and a couple 2x6 boards and make some portable benches.
This makes sense now. Just not something I thought of before. Is it just a common practice rule not to place them on grass?

Only reason I ask is because I remember watching a video from that one prominent Japanese bonsai guy and he had all of his pre bonsai on grass. When he would go and pick one to work on they would have roots coming through the bottom Of the pot and into the ground. I originally thought this was the reason he did it, but with these bugs I'm about done with grass.

Paradox

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
This makes sense now. Just not something I thought of before. Is it just a common practice rule not to place them on grass?