Bonsai wire? What to choose?

TwilightTrees

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Hello,

I'm a beginner here. I want to order a bulk of bonsai wire.

I get a better discount ordering a lot, and safe the shipping instead of buying a bit all the time. Also is nice to be well equipped in my garden workshop

But im in doubt of the dimensions I need.

Which dimensions is the one you use most often?

Most of my trees is in Shohin size at the moment.

Another questions is there any difference in quality between the different aluminum wire? Or colors? What to choose?

Thanks for advice

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
What you use depend entirely on the trees and branches you are wiring. Some species are stiffer than others and require thicker wires. Some branches are thicker and require thicker wire. Thinner twigs require thinner wire.
It depends entirely on how detailed the wiring is and what stage your trees are up to. I guess as a beginner your shohin trees will be pretty skinny so you will probably get away with relatively thin wires.
It is possible to bend a slightly thicker branch using two runs of thinner wire but real difficult and dangerous to try putting excessively thick wire on thin branches.
In your situation I'd leave out the larger sizes for now.
Different colored Al wires is based on preference. They all do the same thing. I'm not aware of any difference in quality between different Al wires but there can be differences in Copper.

River's Edge

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Hello,

I'm a beginner here. I want to order a bulk of bonsai wire.

I get a better discount ordering a lot, and safe the shipping instead of buying a bit all the time. Also is nice to be well equipped in my garden workshop

But im in doubt of the dimensions I need.

Which dimensions is the one you use most often?

Most of my trees is in Shohin size at the moment.