bonsai wire

vbakatare

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10b
I'm new to bonsai, but i'm familiar with the different sizing. I have some wire that I started off with, but would like to buy more. Does anyone have recommendations in where to buy them in larger rolls? Or if anyone has worked with any alternative wires?

Ruddigger

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a
Aluminum or copper? Kimura Bonsai in northridge has aluminum.

Cable

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
either one, not sure if it's a preference or if some trees don't like a certain kind of wire.

Traditionally aluminum is used for deciduous and copper for evergreen.

Deciduous tends to be easier to bend so doesn't necessarily need the holding strength of the more expensive copper wire. TBH I tend to use copper for almost everything because I'd just rather not worry about it!

vbakatare

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10b

Deciduous tends to be easier to bend so doesn't necessarily need the holding strength of the more expensive copper wire. TBH I tend to use copper for almost everything because I'd just rather not worry about it!
you make a fair point! I might head in that direction as well

Forsoothe!

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
If cost is important, or you are new to bonsai, or both then stick with aluminum. Copper is a lot more expensive and in the hands of a new person a waste of time and money. You need a variety of sizes like, 1.0, 1.5, 2.0, 2.5, 3.0mm and either 3.5, 4.0 or 4.5 depending upon your tastes in trees. Bigger tree= bigger wire. You can have one 500gm spool of each size for $13 and you'll be educated by the time you need to buy it again. If you like to have status symbols, then buy the copper.

Last edited:

vbakatare

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10b