Moxie

Seedling
Reaction score
Hello,

I am trying to figure out what's wrong with my bougainvillea bonsai tree:/ I am new to this and any help would be greatly appreciated.
  • The leaves are turning yellow, curling up, and dropping - the plant looks almost bald on one side😭 is it getting too much or not enough water?
  • I spotted black dots on the leaves and flowers:eek: and some of the leaves appear to be chewed - my friend recommended spraying a soapy solution to get rid of pests.
  • The plant is located on the porch and gets about 2 hrs of the morning sun - should I reposition it to a full sun area?
  • What else am IIMG-9191.jpg missing in taking care of it?
6500D2E2-155E-4A69-B7C0-DD36F6FB71F8.JPGIMG-9176.jpgAC1F0A20-1516-44FC-8E12-87912E6B3146.JPG75D89F95-7076-4F57-9DB7-4D8E6007605F.JPG

Forsoothe!

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
If you go to the upper right hand corner and click on your Icon, you can add your location and people will be able to customize advice for you.

<<<<< It will show here.

You have at least two bugs and less than good sun. Evidently, you are not in the temperate zone.

Forsoothe!

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
I think I'll wait for somebody in PR to advise because your bugs speak Spanish.;)

Carol 83

Flower Girl
Reaction score
hahahaha I wish they would just go away:mad:
I don't think that's going to happen. I don't know what is available there, but it needs some sort of insect intervention. Even in P.R. I would give it more than 2 hours of morning sun.

Tycoss

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Full sun and insecticidal soap should do the trick. Bougainvillea often drop all their old leaves and grow new ones if the lighting and watering conditions change. It is usually easier to get them too wet than too dry.

Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a