Bougainvillea styling - chop that branch?

Reaction score
USDA Zone
6B
I've been eyeballing this branch for awhile and I can't think of any good reason to keep it. It's thick and it's coming out parallel to the ground.

I'm getting the itch to take it off now as it's just pushing out some new flowers but I suppose the smart thing would be to wait til spring, as despite the flowers coming it's quite sparse being indoors, having lost a lot of leaves during the transition. The yellowing and burning there you see on some leaves was due to over fertilizing, I think, those leaves have just been hanging on for months.

Anyways, regardless of timing - what are your thoughts? Would you keep this branch? Why?

I think there's a few options as to what I could do with this tree, but that thick side branch seems like it should be a no-brainer to lop... but I'm a novice, and thought it would make for both an interesting learning experience as well as an interesting discussion to post this up.

This also may just be an excuse to lop it out of excitement to try to make a cutting from it.

IMG_2131.jpg

Clicio

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
11a
"When in doubt, don't cut".

I would keep it. Bougies are easy to sprout from old wood and back bud, so I would wait for a while and chop the branch short, and use the new sprouts to change its direction and build taper/ramification.
😉

Reaction score
USDA Zone
6B
"When in doubt, don't cut".

I would keep it. Bougies are easy to sprout from old wood and back bud, so I would wait for a while and chop the branch short, and use the new sprouts to change its direction and build taper/ramification.
😉

well heck that's a good idea too

I sorta figured it was so thick compared to the trunk that it wouldn't ever look right

Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
I'd keep it too.

You could try some different planting angles to solve for parallel.

Reaction score
USDA Zone
6B
Well now I'm glad I asked before lopping it off... more to consider!

Clicio